Every King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard Album, Ranked

Kyle A. Massa
9 min readApr 29, 2024
Paul Hudson from United Kingdom, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

I had to do it eventually.

A Foreward

To prepare for this meaningless exercise, I listened to a lot of Gizzard. That’s pretty much the only prerequisite.

25. “Murder of the Universe”

All you need to know about this album is that it’s got a track called “Vomit Coffin.” It’s meant to gross you out, as described by Gizzard frontman Stu Mackenzie on the KGLW website:

“…It’s the stupidest and ugliest thing we’ve ever done. I knew this record would be liked by some and loathed by many.”

I can’t bring myself to loathe any of their music, but I still have to rank it last. The Altered Beast suite and “The Lord of Lightning” are cool. The rest is so-so.

24. “12 Bar Bruise”

A little gamey. Hints of Willoughby’s Beach, Eyes Like the Sky, and I’m in Your Mind Fuzz scattered throughout. “Elbow” sounds like The Ramones on more cocaine than usual.

23. “The Silver Cord”

An interesting experiment in electronic music, but it worked better for me on Butterfly 3000 (we’ll get to that one soon).

22. “Made in Timeland”

--

--

Kyle A. Massa

A comedy author living somewhere in upstate New York with his wife, their daughter, and three wild animals.